WE CREATE

IUF – LEIBNIZ RESEARCH INSTITUTE
FOR ENVIRONMENTAL MEDICINE

 

The main task of the IUF is to conduct molecular research to prevent environmentally induced illnesses. The aim is to develop preventive strategies and improve health care.

 

The IUF is committed to examining the biological impact on the human body caused by environmental pollutants such as particulates, non-ionizing radiation, and chemicals. The main emphasis is on the environmental impact on the skin, lungs, and brain.

 

The IUF brings together scientific expertise from the fields of toxicology, immunology, molecular aging research, and epidemiology. This interdisciplinary research approach needs experimental models of one or more barrier organs (boundary surface medicine). Besides in vitro examinations on cultured cells and human three-dimensional organic model systems (the latter partly developed at the IUF), in vivo examinations are also performed on both animal models and humans and epidemiological studies are conducted. The IUF currently employs around 130 people and is funded by the Ministry of Culture and Science in the state of North-Rhine Westphalia and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

www.iuf-duesseldorf.com

Prof. Dr. med. Ellen Fritsche

 

Prof. Dr. Ellen Fritsche, MD, has been working at the IUF - Leibniz Research Institute for Environmental Medicine since 2012 and heads the working group sphere models and risk assessment as a joint professor with the Heinrich Heine University in Düsseldorf. Her current research focuses on the establishment of alternative methods for developmental and adult neurotoxicity, embryotoxicity, endocrine disruption testing and their integration in adverse outcome pathways.

 

In the past few years, she has mainly dealt with the transfer of her basic research at the IUF into regulatory application. Hence, she collaborates with EFSA, the Danish and the United States Environmental Protection Agency. She is also a member of the OECD Expert Group on the Development of a Guidance Document for the Use and Interpretation of a DNT In Vitro Test Battery for the Detection of Developmental Neurotoxicity and the OECD Advisory Group for the creation of this Guidance.

 

In recent years, she has received multiple awards for her work, including the cefic LRI Award and the Ursula M. Händel Animal Welfare Prize of the German Research Foundation. Her work is currently funded from public sources from the state of North-Rhine Westphalia, the federal German government, the EU or industry.

_FTN7608_edited.jpg

NEW

STANDARDS

WE CREATE

IUF – LEIBNIZ-INSTITUT
FÜR UMWELTMEDIZINISCHE FORSCHUNG

 

Die zentrale Aufgabe des IUF ist die molekulare präventivmedizinische Erforschung umweltinduzierter Erkrankungen. Das Ziel ist die Entwicklung präventiver Strategien und eine verbesserte Gesundheitsvorsorge.

 

Das IUF widmet sich den biologischen Wirkungen, die Umweltschadstoffe wie Partikel, nicht-ionisierende Strahlung und Chemikalien auf den menschlichen Organismus ausüben. Das Interesse gilt vor allem den Umwelteinflüssen auf Haut, Lunge und Gehirn.

 

Das IUF bündelt wissenschaftliche Expertise in der Toxikologie, Immunologie, molekularen Alternsforschung und Epidemiologie. Dieser interdisziplinäre Forschungsansatz erfordert experimentelle Modelle von einem oder mehreren Grenzflächenorganen (Grenzflächenmedizin). Neben in vitro Untersuchungen an kultivierten Zellen und zum Teil im IUF entwickelten humanen, dreidimensionalen organischen Modellsystemen werden auch in vivo Untersuchungen an Tiermodellen und am Menschen sowie epidemiologische Studien durchgeführt. Das IUF hat derzeit rund 130 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter und wird vom Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert.

www.iuf-duesseldorf.de

Prof. Dr. med. Ellen Fritsche

 

Professor Dr. med. Ellen Fritsche arbeitet seit 2012 am IUF – Leibniz-Institut für umweltmedizinische Forschung und leitet dort als gemeinsam berufene Professorin mit der Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf die Arbeitsgruppe für Umwelttoxikologische Risikoabschätzung und humane Sphärenmodelle. Ihre derzeitigen Forschungsschwerpunkte umfassen die Etablierung von Alternativmethoden zur Testung auf Entwicklungs- und adulte Neurotoxizität, die Embryotoxizität, die endokrine Disruption sowie deren Einbindung in Adverse-Outcome-Pathways.

 

In den letzten Jahren hat sie sich hauptsächlich mit dem Forschungstransfer in die regulatorische Anwendung beschäftigt. Hier arbeitet sie mit EFSA, der dänischen und der US-amerikanischen Umweltbehörde zusammen. Sie ist zudem Mitglied der OECD Expertengruppe zur Entwicklung einer Leitlinie für die Nutzung und Interpretation einer DNT in vitro Testbatterie zur Erfassung von Entwicklungsneurotoxizität sowie in der OECD Beratungskommission für die Erstellung dieses Dokuments. 

 

In den vergangenen Jahren wurde sie mehrfach für ihre Arbeiten  ausgezeichnet, u. a. mit dem cefic LRI Award und dem Ursula M. Händel-Tierschutzpreis der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft. 

Ihre Arbeiten werden derzeit durch das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen, den Bund, die EU sowie die Industrie gefördert.

NEW

STANDARDS